Canada: Prime Minister Trudeau Announces new Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada

Posted by Immigration Law Team|Canada Immigration
Jan 17

In Brief

On January 10, 2017, Prime Minister Trudeau announced changes to the Ministry, replacing several key Cabinet Members including the Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship. Mr. Ahmed Hussen was sworn in as the new Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship.


Mr. Hussen is currently the Member of Parliament for the Toronto South – Weston riding. Mr. Hussen gained his seat in Parliament in 2015 as the first Somali-Canadian elect.

Mr. Hussen immigrated to Canada from Somalia in 1993 and has a history of political involvement, most recently serving as National President for the Canadian Somali Congress. Mr.  Hussen is also a community advocate, serving on the Boards of the Global Enrichment Foundation and Journalists for Human Rights, and co-founding the Regent Park Community Council.

As a Member of Parliament, Ahmed Hussen sits on the Justice and Human Rights Committee and the Canada-Africa Parliamentary Association.

It is anticipated that previous Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, Mr. John McCallum, will assume a diplomatic position, potentially serving as Canada’s ambassador to China.


While this cabinet shuffle comes as a surprise to some, Mr. Hussen’s appointment as Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship demonstrates an ongoing commitment to ensuring Canada’s immigration policy continues to fuel industrial growth, while ensuring both that families remain united and that Canada honours its  humanitarian commitments.

For information on your Canadian immigration matters, please contact PwC Law LLP.

Posted by Immigration Law Team » No Comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

nine − 4 =

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>